Leon Köhler celebrates first Carrera Cup win, title decided at finale

Must read

Loud cheers for Leon Köhler and his T3/HRT Motorsport team: At the Lausitzring on Sunday, the German won his first race in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland.

Round 9

“I’ve been working towards this moment forever. I’m overjoyed. My start wasn’t optimal but after that, I was really fast. With Laurin Heinrich finishing on the podium, it was an outstanding result for our squad,” said Köhler. Scoring second in the action-packed race, Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Nebulus Racing by Huber) is now the new championship leader.

Third place went to Laurin Heinrich (T3/HRT Motorsport/Deutschland). One title decision has already been made: Thanks to his class win, Carlos Rivas (Luxembourg/Black Falcon Team Textar) has claimed the trophy early in the ProAm class.

At the race on a wet track, all drivers opted for rain tyres. Heinrich made a cracking start in his Porsche 911 GT3 Cup and catapulted from fifth on the grid to the front. Köhler and polesitter ten Voorde slotted in behind him. Köhler immediately put Heinrich under pressure.

In lap three, the 21-year-old swept into the lead, pulled clear and brought home a commanding victory. Ten Voorde came out on top of the duel for second place. In the sixth lap, the Huber driver made the most of Heinrich’s braking mistake to overtake the rookie. “Unfortunately, I couldn’t match Leon Köhler’s pace in the race. Still, all in all, it was a successful weekend for me. I’m now leading the championship and I’m heading to the season finale in Oschersleben with a good feeling,” concluded ten Voorde.

Heinrich achieved his fifth podium result in the Lausitz. “I knew that Leon Köhler and Larry ten Voorde are very fast despite the slippery track surface. My main priority was to defend third place and I managed that,” explained Heinrich.

Fourth place went to Rudy van Buren (CarTech Motorsport by Nigrin) – the Dutchman’s best result of the season so far. Diego Bertonelli (Italy/Fach Auto Tech) took the chequered flag in fifth ahead of Joey Mawson (Australia/Fach Auto Tech) and Lucas Groeneveld (Netherlands/GP Elite). Bad luck struck Dylan Pereira (Förch Racing), who had to relinquish the championship lead after finishing eighth: In lap three, the Luxembourger slid from the track and rejoined the race at the back of the field.

You may not copy, reproduce, republish, translate, download, post, broadcast or transmit any part of the Racing Life website in whole or in part, in any form or medium, except for your own personal, non-commercial use. Contacts

- Advertisement -

More articles

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
- Advertisement -

Latest article